Thoughts on the Irish 1901 census.

The 1901 Irish census was made available online on June 3. I kept my expectations low as most of my family records including those in the 1911 census were burned at the time of the Civil War.
My first searches returned nothing. I wasn’t surprised, just saddened. I did a place search. This search brought results. There they were, my great grandmother Margaret, her three daughters and two sons, their ages and circumstances recorded at a moment in time. There was detail right down to the number of hen houses they owned. I felt overwhelmed.
Since then I keep thinking of my great grandmother. She was widowed when my grandfather was ten and her youngest child a few months old. At least three of her children died in childhood.
On the census return Margaret is described as a ‘farmeress’. I can visualise her as she refused to be recorded as a farmer. Her spirit and femininity sparkle through.
Prior to this Margaret was just a name on a page. Now I feel I have connected with her.

National Archives Ireland http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/

Explore posts in the same categories: Family History and Genealogy, History

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Thoughts on the Irish 1901 census.”

  1. moira heery Says:

    Have you followed Margaret up in the 1911 census now online Valerie? We were able to trace the changes that occurred within families in Inis Bigil between 1901 and 1911.

    • twilark Says:

      Thank you for that Moira. Yes, I’ve been through the 1911 census with all the possible name variations, including Irish. I went through the whole of Co. Louth on same names next. Then I searched the local placenames. There were probably two farms by 1911 in the Dunmahon/Ha(e)ynestown/Haggardstown locality as my grandfather was married by then and I think living at Claremont. Neither show. Part of my maternal grandmother’s family who lived nearby are also missing from the 1911.
      Fortunately I have a family tree handed down that goes back to 1819. It has provided a starting point for searches including Margaret’s wedding details . Land Reg shows continuity of tenure in the family. I’ve also found more on Griffiths and a few other docs.


Leave a Reply

